Our Governance

The Muslim Council of Britain (MCB) is the UK’s largest and most diverse Muslim umbrella organisation with over 500 affiliated national, regional and local organisations, mosques, charities and schools

As set out in its Constitution, the decision-making and ruling body of the Muslim Council of Britain is its General Assembly that must meet at least once a year at an AGM (Annual General Meeting). In between AGMs, the National Council meets quarterly, reviews the activities and direction of MCB’s work and holds the leadership team to account.

Every two years the General Assembly elects the Secretary General, Deputy Secretary General, as well as the National Council. Based on these, the Office Bearers and Executive Committee members are appointed to run the organisation.

Further information on each of these is provided below.

The Secretary General and the Deputy Secretary General are elected by delegates at the Annual General Meeting for a two year-term. The Secretary General can only serve for a maximum of two consecutive terms.

Office Bearers (2021-2022)

  • Ms Zara Mohammed, Secretary General
  • Mr Hassan Joudi, Deputy Secretary General
  • Ms Rashidat Hassan, Assistant Secretary General
  • Dr Shahzad Amin, Assistant Secretary General
  • Dr Wajid Akhter, Assistant Secretary General
  • Mr Asim Sheikh, Treasurer
  • Mr Lamine Kanote, Assistant Treasurer

Further information about current Office Bearers can be found here.