Our People

MCB leadership is democratically elected
The MCB’s leadership team consists of Office Bearers who are democratically elected every two years.

Office Bearers report quarterly to the National Council and also appoint staff for day-to-day running. All Office Bearers perform their duties in a voluntary capacity. See below for current Office Bearers and Senior Management Team. Read more about our governance structure here.

Office Bearers 2018-20

Every two years, the posts of Secretary General (SG) and Deputy Secretary General (DSG) are directly elected by delegates of MCB Affiliates at an election Annual General Meeting (AGM). National Council members are also elected.

Within one month of the election AGM, the appointment of up to five further Office Bearers are proposed and ratified by the National Council. These include three Assistant Secretary Generals, a Treasurer and an Assistant Treasurer.

If you would like to contact any of the current Office Bearers, please get in touch here. 

Please note at the election AGM on 31 January 2020, Zara Mohammed was elected as new Secretary General and Hassan Joudi was elected as Deputy Secretary General. Click here for read press release. The remaining Office Bearers will be in post by end of February 2021 and this page will be updated thereafter.

Harun Khan

Secretary General

Hassan Joudi

Deputy Secretary General

Rashidat Hassan

Assistant Secretary General

Zara Mohamed

Assistant Secretary General

Maswood Ahmed

Assistant Secretary General

Navshir Jaffer


Lamine Konate

Assistant Treasurer

Senior Management Team

The Senior Management Team are responsible for day-to-day running of the MCB’s activities and projects. Our team are passionate individuals from diverse backgrounds who want to actively make a positive difference in society.

To join our team, check out our current job vacancies and volunteering opportunities, or please get in touch here.

Lamees Hafeez

Director Of Operations

Rizwana Hamid

Director Of Centre For Media Monitoring